A Python Dev??

A Python Dev??

I promise this will be short not just because I don't have much to say but because I am bad at expressing myself.

I decided to start this "blog" because after scrolling through Hashnode I haven't found an article that shows other devs being stumped. Hi I'm Bishop, I study accounting somewhere on earth, I have always loved tech and computers(still do) , never thought about coding or programming except when i watch movies and one guy that the NSA knows about but can't arrest or do anything about is now on their payroll and comes in to save them from a major disaster(if you know the movie, comment it below) or a guy in a hoodie running from the cops,

hacker_hash.jpg

you get my point I knew basically nothing about coding except those dudes typing at the speed of light well that was until I met someone in my university who was a madddddddd developer who told me about his pay so naturally I was interested but he was self-taught and had no time to start teaching a novice so he gave me the materials he started with , this was March of 2020 so you know covid(hurray) . I read and watched the materials throughout March till June (yes I took my time).

After finishing the course I thought well that must be it I am now a python dev so I updated my LinkedIn to junior dev (I don't do too much), I’m skipping a very important piece to the story I didn't( and still don't, at least right now) have a laptop so I had to borrow a lot, install and reconfigure every laptop although sometimes I just used Repl.it ( very nice btw) , I eventually lost all interest in coding, didn’t even touch a laptop till March of 2021 (still wasn’t my laptop), well quarantine was lifted school resumed and for inexplicable reasons I got interested again in coding and this time a friend of mine who also learnt python was embarking on the same journey as I was so it made every me happy when we made the same mistakes ( what can I say , misery loves company). Well the biggest shock of my career as a “python dev” was when I was told I had to learn frameworks at least to be employable. I was so dumbfounded , I thought it was time to earn this tech money I had heard so much about .

exaspereated_hash.jpg

I opted for Django until a friend told me flask was better so I switched then another friend told me Django was better and listed advantages of Django over flask( these are not the only two options btw) so I switched back to Django, well after googling it( should have done this first) Now into my Django story( this has been longer than anticipated but I assure you that this is very short).. My journey with Django started and ended all in 36 hours, right from the installation process , everything was wrong even Google didn’t seem friendly anymore and the tutorials were not experiencing any of my problems . I found things that all of my friends who code called easy hard, Most of them couldn't relate but if you are are just starting out you might be able to .

I wrote this article so you know that it’s completely normal to make mistakes and you'll learn from them ( I know you must have heard this a lot and trust me you'll still hear more of it but it's true) and so you know that you are not alone we all make mistakes.

If you want me to keep you updated with my progress as a “Python DEV”, comment below or check out my twitter https://twitter.com/i_am__Bishop?s=08